LEADCORE
Trent
Posted 3/11/2005 9:34 PM (#29486)
Subject: LEADCORE

I'm a young guy and I'm fairly new to walleye fishing. I've been reading all the in-fisherman magazines. I have always fished but never really got into the thinking side of fishing until last year when I got my boat license and the parents let me take the boat out nearly everyday of the year. Anyways, there's a snad bar on my lake and it gradually drops from about a foot of water into about 25 feet of water and since most of my crankbaits only dive to about 19 feet with 10 pound fireline, I was considering the idea of using leadcore. I'm only 18 and in college, so I don't have alot of money to be spending on multiple rods and reels. I have an Abu Garcia c3, 6500 series baitcasting reel and it says that I can have about 245 yards of 14 ound test.

I was wondering if I were able to fit a backing of about 50 yard of fireline then put all of the 18 pound leadcore onto my reel. But I guess I might even have to fork out the money for a linecounter reel and another rod because I with also use that reel for casting. And also if I werent going to use planer boards, would I really need an 8'6'' rod for trolling? I just bought a 7 foot medium light baitcasting rod and Im wondering if thats good enough?
Sorry for the long post but I theres so many things to know about these damn fish that you cant just read up on it in magazines, you gotta ask the seasoned pros!!!

Thanks,
Ross Restoule
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Rob Stratton
Posted 3/11/2005 9:49 PM (#29488 - in reply to #29486)
Subject: RE: LEADCORE

Ross,