I need some input!
SEMOmike
Posted 1/29/2007 8:50 PM (#51037)
Subject: I need some input!

Guys,

I'm completely new to walleye fishing (I'm a crappie fisherman), however have run across an area below a res. on a fairly large river that a client has shown me pics of huge walleye he has caught. Said that they were all caught just below a highway bridge, the river gets very deep (40'-50' on a river that probably averages 3-6')and the walleye just stack up there.

How would you guys go about catching these? Would you jig twister tails on the upriver slope of the drop, would I use those blade baits and anchor upstream of the drop and cast?

Thanks in advance
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Denver
Posted 1/29/2007 8:55 PM (#51038 - in reply to #51037)
Subject: RE: I need some input!

I'll be glad to show you how to catch them if you show me where it is. lol.
SEMOmike
Posted 1/29/2007 9:09 PM (#51039 - in reply to #51037)
Subject: Re: I need some input!

Hell I'll show you, I'm not greedy. If someone helps me out and wants to drive to Southeast MO, I would be more than happy tp share!!!!!
john mannerino
Posted 1/30/2007 5:08 AM (#51040 - in reply to #51037)

My first place to look is where you said, the front of the hole and work different depths untill you can locate fish. It sounds like a awsome late afternoon/night spot to fish. Cast up in the shallows to look for feeding fish. Be QUIET these fish are spooky. Also work around the bridge supports at the current breaks. With the weather we are haveing up here, I wish I could show you but I cant. Good luck.
jerry
Posted 1/30/2007 6:17 AM (#51043 - in reply to #51040)

SE Missouri?? I'll be there in 2-3 weeks to pickup my new boat. Maybe I should bring some rods with!!!